Eddie Alvarez disqualification loss at ONE on TNT overturned to no-contest

Eddie Alvarez’s current disqualification loss to Iuri Lapicus is not any extra.

MMA Preventing confirmed with ONE Championship officers that Alvarez’s DQ from his light-weight bout reverse Lapicus on the April 7 ONE on TNT occasion has been overturned to a no-contest.

The choice was unanimously made by a panel of 15 impartial officers, in addition to ONE personnel, judges, and referees, who decided that referee Justin Brown made “a procedural misstep” in disqualifying Alvarez reasonably than first issuing a warning for unlawful blows to the again of the pinnacle.

ONE’s choice to alter the consequence was first reported by ESPN.

Alvarez was initially given a crimson card (now formally modified to a yellow card) signalling a DQ underneath ONE guidelines after it was deemed by Brown that Alvarez landed a number of punches to the again of the pinnacle throughout a ground-and-pound sequence within the first spherical.

The official time of the stoppage was 1:02 into spherical one.

That very same night, ONE CEO Chatri Sityodtong stated that in an preliminary overview of the footage it appeared that Alvarez had landed “4 or 5 unlawful blows.” Alvarez instantly known as for the consequence to be overturned, and veteran referee John McCarthy later weighed in including that he felt Brown wanted to be extra accountable together with his dealing with of the crimson card.

ONE on TNT came about in Singapore, the place ONE serves because the regulator for its personal occasions.

With the consequence being modified, Alvarez’s document is now 30-7 (2 NC) whereas Lapicus’ is 14-1 (1 NC). Alvarez already has his subsequent task, he fights Rae Yoon Okay within the co-main occasion of ONE on TNT 4 this Wednesday.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.